Aiding the Front Stroke

This week I have focused much of my attention on my biggest weakness, my front stroke. So this week I have begun watching even more videos to improve my front stroke. As a follow up from last week, once again, I have focused much of my attention on technique. In further research of technique I learned that not only does poor technique cause one to swim slower, but it can also hamper one’s joints, “swimming with your head out of the water compresses the neck, which has a knock-on effect on the lower back. For every inch you lift your head, your hips will drop two inches” (Murphy, 2008). The last thing I would want to have happen while learning how to swim is to run into an injury from using improper form.
What I found in many websites and various blogs is them recommending to use different resources to help with your technique. In countless articles and videos one in particular that they continually recommend is the pool noodle.
After I was sold on using a pool noodle to help me improve on my front stroke, I seeked out videos so that I would be able to try and mimic what the instructor is showing. In The first three minutes of this clip is what inspired me on how to use a pool noodle while training. This video also helped to give me confidence knowing that if these kids can learn how to swim by using a pool noodle, then I will definitely be able to learn how to swim by using a pool noodle.
Finally here is a video of me doing a front stroke, with a large focus on proper breathing, and proper kicks while being supported by the pool noodle. Another common mistake people make is by wasting so much energy on their arms, when they should be focusing on their legs. This is because the legs are the strongest part on one’s body, “People often make the mistake of working too hard with the arms when it’s actually the legs that are the engine of the stroke,” (Murphy, 2008). This is another reason why in the video I chose to use a pool noodle as I was able to target my breathing and pay extra attention to my legs. One of the main features of the pool noodle is how inexpensive it is, while still being such a great aid in helping one learn how to swim. I for one can vouch for how useful the pool noodle can be. I found it much easier for myself to stay afloat while using the pool noodle as a support. Normally I would have been struggling to keep myself afloat and would have extorted too much energy on not drowning that I would become far too tired to continue to train. However after properly training I now feel confident that with the progress I am making that by the end of the semester I will be able to swim full lengths on both my back and front side without any aids.
Stay Tuned.
References:
Murphy, S. (2008, July 29). How to swim right: breaststroke. Retrieved June 09, 2017, from https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2008/jul/30/fitness
One thought on “Aiding the Front Stroke

Leave a Reply

