Mission Accomplished!

At the beginning of the semester I took on the daunting task of learning how to swim. To some this may have seemed easy, but to me I knew this would take a lot effort and a lot of time researching, seeking out additional information. Luckily in this class we have spent a plethora of time exploring websites and filtering out the good and bad websites. During this project there have been some very hard and frustrating days. There were days I did not want to continue as it was becoming increasingly frustrating not seeing immediate results, however by sticking to the plan, and following what was outlined in the various videos and websites  viewed I was able to slowly improve and ultimately reach my goal of being able to swim at my girlfriends cabin and the end of the semester.

Needless to say I was very pleased with the final outcome. l do realize that there is still plenty of room for improvement but this project was a huge step in the right direction, and got me on the right track. I now have the basics down, I just need to work on the fundamentals more, and through more practice I  am very confident that l will be at the level of swimming  I know I can be at. Although this project did become frustrating at moments when I was not seeing the results I wanted to see. However with that being said this project was also very fun and rewarding for me. Thankfully for me my girlfriend was a huge help. She was very patient with me throughout the whole semester and never doubted me. She was always there for me, allowing me to use her pool, telling me what I need to work on, and taking videos of me, so I was able to compare myself with what I was watching online. It was also an opportunity for us to spend some quality time together and bond.

In the end it was all worth it when I was able to go to her cabin and was finally able to experience moments I always missed out on in the past due to the fear of being too embarrassed, scared to go in the water with the fear of falling in. I am very proud to say that I went paddle boarding. A watersport I never would have ever dreamed of partaking in. I had so much fun doing it, and never wanted to get off. I believe I felt even more satisfaction knowing how much time was invested into learning how to swim. A skill that will always be useful, and who knows, maybe down the road can even be considered lifesaving. I will be forever grateful for this class for teaching me all you can learn through online sources. If it were not for this class who knows if I ever would have learned how to swim.

Here are some of the final outcomes of me on the lake this weekend with zero fear of drowning!!

ecmpswim

ecmpswim1

ecmpswim3

ecmpswimm

 

 

Thanks for tuning in.

Jon

3 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished!

  1. I have been your biggest cheerleader, at least from my end of town. 🙂 I bet you are kind of shocked that learning to swim took such a short time. It is only the beginning of summer and you will be able to show off those pecs a lot more in your bathing trunks with a purpose. I am so happy for you. Truth!!

    Like

  2. Congrats! This is such an accomplishment! I have taught adults to swim many times and I am always impressed by their determination. Unlike children learning to swim, adults are choosing to be there and want to have this set of skills! I am glad you took on this challenge and continue to practice as that honestly will help you get better! Remember to think of the path of least resistance in the water. Be streamline! 🙂 enjoy swimming!

    Like

Leave a Reply

